40 Days of Kindness

1

February 13, 2013 by tmlinn

So tomorrow begins the season of Lent. If you are not Catholic you may not know what that means. Well, I’m not Catholic…I’m Methodist but I observe this time of year anyways.

Lent refers to the 40 days before Easter. Traditionally it is customary for one to give something up during the observance of Lent in exchange for penance and out of reverence and obedience. I’ve given up several things over the years: red meat, soda, fast food etc, and these times have helped me grow the most spiritually, however, this year instead of giving something up I have decided to add something to my life.

In observance of Lent I will be doing “40 Days of Kindness” which is one random act of kindness per day. I’m really excited about this and plan to update y’all periodically on what I do and reflect on it a bit.

Today is “Fat Tuesday”, “Shrove Tuesday” or Mardi Gras depending on your location or tradition. I didn’t get to eat anything super yummy for Fat Tuesday because I’ve been having issues with greasy and fatty foods. Had two drs appointments today, had to get an ultrasound of my gallbladder and should know in 24-48 hrs what the dealo is with my body.

So tomorrow is Ash Wednesday, the first day of Lent. It’s called Ash Wednesday because of the traditional service called the “Imposition of Ashes” where a pastor puts a cross of ashes on your forehead as remembrance of your creation and impending death. Lent is a somber time of reflection. We may know that Christ will serve victory on the cross, but we have to trudge through the valley to the cross first. 

I hope this is a wonderful season for all of you. If you are observing Lent as well please feel free to comment what you are giving up and/or adding on!

One thought on “40 Days of Kindness

  1. Lara Leinss says:

    I love that you’re doing 40 days of kindness; I think I want to do that next year! 🙂 I will be giving up all dairy, including cheese!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3 other followers

Weighting For It to Happen...

A real girl's intro to the real world...

A real girl's intro to the real world...

A real girl's intro to the real world...

A real girl's intro to the real world...

A real girl's intro to the real world...

Our Naturally Bare Adventure

A real girl's intro to the real world...

Skinny Chicago

A real girl's intro to the real world...

Is this how parenting works?

A real girl's intro to the real world...

United States of Andrea

A real girl's intro to the real world...

Aussie in the USA

A real girl's intro to the real world...

Mama Laughlin

A real girl's intro to the real world...

Hopes and Dreams

A real girl's intro to the real world...

United States of Andrea

A real girl's intro to the real world...

Fitness Unscripted

A real girl's intro to the real world...

Shesabigstar

A real girl's intro to the real world...

弁護士の債権回収

A real girl's intro to the real world...

realgospeltalk

Real talk about the gospel for real people

